President Muhammadu Buhari will replace the 10 members of his cabinet who resigned to contest several election posts in next year’s elections.

Minister of Information and Culture Lai Mohammed announced this after the President had an appointment meeting with nine of the ministers at the Presidential Villa, Abuja on Friday.

According to him, Buhari has indicated that he will immediately fill the vacancy created by the resignation of former members of the Federal Executive Council (FEC).

He also thanked the late ministers for complying with the order to resign based on their decision to seek elective political office.

Buhari praised them for their services to the country and expressed their confidence that they were equipped to run the states, with the experience they gained in the services of the government.

President Buhari warned the rest of the cabinet to be committed to management for the rest of the administration’s life.

The former ministers present at Friday’s meeting were Abubakar Malami (Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice); Godswill Akpabio (Niger Delta Business); Rotimi Amaechi (Transport); Ogbonnaya Onu (Science, Technology and Innovation); Pauline Tallen (Women’s Affairs); Chris Ngige (Labor and Employment); Timipre Sylva (State, Petroleum Resources); Uche Ogar (State, Mining and Steel Development), and Tayo Alasoadura (State, Niger Delta Affairs).

Only Emeka Nwajiuba, the former Minister of State for Education, who was the first to resign, was absent from the meeting with an apology.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply